CAC’s Aravaipa Campus celebrates student success with bounty of academic and service awards

May 11, 2009

WINKELMAN, Ariz. – From Kearney to Oracle and in the many small towns that dot the roads and highways of Eastern Pinal County’s Copper Corridor, Central Arizona College students travel to the Aravaipa Campus where they excel in the classroom and in life.

On Wednesday evening May 6, the CAC Aravaipa Campus celebrated that success with its annual Student Awards Ceremony.

The group of honorees included 15 students who were selected for Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges. The national list included the CAC Aravaipa Campus following students with their hometowns and high schools when available:

• Debra Breen (Oracle, AZ)
• Danielle Brownrigg (Dudleyville, AZ/San Manuel)
• Yvette Boulier (Mammoth, AZ)
• Ana Carrera (San Manuel, AZ)
• Aracelli Castaneda (Hayden, AZ)
• Amanda Hughes (Mammoth, AZ)
• Mercedes Lopez (Winkelman, AZ)
• Cynthia Magallanez (Winkelman, AZ)
• Nicole Perea (San Manuel, AZ)
• Samajia Perez (Hayden, AZ/Hayden)
• Linda Ramsey
• Sherene Ruiz (Hayden, AZ)
• Rhiannon Tafoya (Oracle, AZ)
• Lisa Trease (Oracle, AZ)
• Samantha Withers (San Manuel, AZ)

Perez and Bouiler also were recognized for their role in Student Leadership at the Aravaipa Campus, while Boulier was chosen as the Outstanding Phi Theta Kappa Member for 2008-09 and honored for her service to the college’s library.

The Phi Theta Kappa leadership earned praise during the ceremony when Withers was recognized for her role as PTK president and Renee Soqui (Mammoth, AZ/San Manuel) was honored for serving as the PTK vice president. Soqui also was named the Learning Center’s Tutor of the Year, while both students were noted for their excellence in tutoring.

Other students who received Excellence in Tutoring certificates included Kelly Dougherty (San Manuel, AZ), Rose Miranda (Mammoth, AZ) and Heather Tuka (San Manuel, AZ).

Brownrigg, who served as the PTK treasurer this year, also received the CAC Foundation Scholarship and was acknowledged for her excellence in tutoring.

Fourteen students attending the Aravaipa Campus earned recognition for excellence in the classroom by receiving the Aravaipa Academic Plus Award. The following students, along with their hometown and high school information, were honored during the ceremony:

• Amanda Aguirre (Winkelman AZ/Hayden)
• Patrick Avelar (Kearny, AZ)
• Ana Carrera (Mammoth, AZ/San Manuel)
• Ivette Chavarria (Mammoth, AZ/San Manuel)
• Armand Cruz (Hayden AZ/Hayden)
• Amanda Hughes (Mammoth, AZ)
• Kira Kettering (San Manuel, AZ)
• Angela Lopez (Kearny AZ/Ray)
• Mercy Lopez (Winkelman, AZ)
• Arlene Martinez (Dudleyville AZ/Ray)
• Deanna Martinez (San Manuel, AZ)
• Amber Middaugh (Kearny AZ/Ray)
• Nazareth “Nikki” Montano (Kearny, AZ/Ray)
• Christine Paredez (Mammoth, AZ)

Two of the Aravaipa Academic Plus Award recipients were instrumental leaders on campus this year. Carrera and Chavarria each assumed a role in Student Leadership during their tenure.

Felice Aguirre (Hayden, AZ), Arlene Martinez and Amanda Aguirre claimed certificates for their outstanding volunteer service in the Aravaipa Campus Library.

Hughes was named the Outstanding Science Student Award winner, while Middaugh earned a Technology Division honor. Other Technology Division Award winners included Tony Romero (Mammoth, AZ), Xavier Rodriguez (Mammoth, AZ), Shane Gowanlock (San Manuel, AZ), Chris Perea (San Manuel, AZ) and Wayne Babb (Mammoth, AZ).

The Newton Scholarship went to Joshua Monroy (Hayden, AZ), while the J. Luz Hernandez Award was presented to Juan Barcelo (Mammoth, AZ).

The ECE/EDU Student Award was presented to Carol Verdugo (Mammoth, AZ), while Richard Encinas (San Manuel, AZ) was named the Outstanding Part-Time Student for the Aravaipa Campus.

Leah Womack (Kearny, AZ/Ray) earned the Social and Behavioral Science Award for her academic excellence in classroom.

In addition to the student honors, three CAC employees received Service Recognition Awards - Domingo Barragan and Wayne Babb of Mammoth, AZ, and Elda Munoz of  Hayden.


Content on this page is provided by Public Information & Marketing.

Central Arizona College - District Office 8470 N. Overfield Road, Coolidge, AZ 85128 Phone: 800-237-9814