123 students honored at Signal Peak Campus student awards ceremony

Breanna DrakeBy Guy Harrison, Media & Marketing Specialist

PINAL COUNTY, Ariz. - A total of 137 different awards were presented to 123 students during Central Arizona College's student awards ceremony on April 28 at its Signal Peak Campus.

Brad Berger (Florence) was tabbed as the campus's Most Engaged Student of the Year. Bijaun Arnold (Florence) received the Outstanding First Year Student Award while Christopher Misita, Jr. (Coolidge) earned the prestigious Dora Vasquez Award.

"Today, we celebrate the best of the best at CAC," Dr. Terri Ackland, CAC's dean of arts and sciences said before urging the recipients to "continue lifelong learning. Remember today's celebration and be sure to give back along the way."

In addition to the 137 student awards, Chemistry Professor Diane Beecroft was also honored as the Signal Peak Campus's Faculty Member of the Year:

Outstanding Student in Business
Breanna Drake (San Tan Valley)

Outstanding Computer Information Systems Student
Steve Corral (Casa Grande)

Excellence in English
Chloe Reynolds (Eloy)

Excellence in Literature
Kandace Kelly (Oracle)

Outstanding Creative Arts Student
Stacy Esparza (Casa Grande)

Outstanding Culinary Arts Student
Katherine Kutyba (San Tan Valley)

Outstanding Early Childhood Education Students
Lois Bryant (Coolidge)
Geovani Hernandez (Casa Grande)

Outstanding Education Student
Ana Fernanda Benitez (Casa Grande)

Outstanding Wielding Technology Student
Aaron Espinoza (Casa Grande)

Outstanding Diesel Technology Student
Rodolfo Mariscal, Jr. (Arizona City)

Outstanding Fire Science Student
Dustin Bongiovanni (Mesa)

Outstanding Honors Students
Reggie Nichols (Florence)
Michael Smith

Male Athlete of the Year
Vincentas Aleksandravicius (Vilnius, Lithuania)

Female Athlete of the Year
Kimberly Williamson (Clarendon, Jamaica)

Outstanding Math Student
Ci Brouillard (Coolidge)

Most Improved Student in Mathematics
Melvin Miles (Coolidge)

Outstanding Nursing Student - Academic Achievement
Steven Crow (Mesa)

Outstanding Nursing Student - Leadership
Patricia Stimbert (Maricopa)

Outstanding Phi Theta Kappa Students
Haymee Lucio
Joseph Gamez

Outstanding Biological Science Student
Reggie Nichols

Outstanding Physical Science Student
Joseph Markham (Casa Grande)

Outstanding Social and Behavioral Sciences Students
Destinee Galvez
Judy Ashcraft

Student Public Policy Forum Representative
Margarete Nasir

Recognition for Student Leadership Team
Joseph Gamez - Executive Coordinator (Stanfield)
Willa Pankey - Administrative Coordinator (Casa Grande)
Jeffrie Baker - Club & Community Outreach Coordinator (Coolidge)
Alexis Zazueta - Fundraising Coordinator (Casa Grande)
Darin Morgan - Publicity Coordinator (Coolidge)
David Kennon - Student Leadership Coordinator (Casa Grande)

TRiO Student of the Year
Gilberte Bussey

TRiO Peer Mentor of the Year
Cristal Severino

Student Achievement Awards
Nicole Bruning (Casa Grande) (Tutor of the Year)
Brad Berger (Most Engaged Student)
Bijuan Arnold (Outstanding First Year Student)
Christopher Misita, Jr. (Dora Vasquez Award)
Jared Maldonaldo (Casa Grande) (Outstanding Veteran Academic/Service Award)

Faculty of the Year
Diane Beecroft

In addition to the individual awards, 97 students were honored by Who's Who Among American Junior College Students.

Central Arizona College - District Office 8470 N. Overfield Road, Coolidge, AZ 85128 Phone: 800-237-9814