20 students honored at Central Arizona College’s Maricopa Campus student awards ceremony

Maricopa Award WinnersBy Guy Harrison, Media & Marketing Specialist

MARICOPA, Ariz. - A total of 15 different awards were presented to 20 students during Central Arizona College's student awards ceremony on April 23 at its Maricopa Campus.

Socorro Carrillo was tabbed as the campus's Most Engaged Student of the Year, while Brian Lauterbach received Outstanding First Year Student and Outstanding Veteran Academic/Service Award honors.

"This evening is about the students we are honoring here tonight," Dr. Janice Pratt, CAC's assistant dean of workforce development said at the outset of the ceremony. "One of the benefits of working for a college is having the opportunity to watch students blossom before our very eyes, to come in with varying levels of skills and competencies and abilities, and then move up and turn into something quite special."

In addition to the 15 student awards, Psychology Professor Steve Ornelas was also honored as the Maricopa Campus's Faculty Member of the Year:

Academic Plus Awards
Jefferson Exantus
Brittany Hope
Gregorio Jimenez
Alejandro Laredo

Outstanding Student in Business
William Cooley

Outstanding Student in Computer Information Systems
Michael Zigoures

Culinary Arts Most Engaged Student
Bill Gomez

Excellence in Math
Brienna Young
Melissa Sikes

Outstanding Biological Science Student
Angelique Abbott

Outstanding Physical Science Student
Charles West

Outstanding Social and Behavioral Sciences Student
Corina Morales

Student Public Policy Forum Representative
Socorro Carrillo

Recognition for Student Leadership Team
Socorro Carrillo - President
Melissa Sikes - Vice President
Yessica Salazar - Treasurer
Daniela Perez - Public Relations/Marketing Coordinator
Brittany Hope - Volunteerism Coordinator

Student Achievement Awards
Edward Maxson (Tutor of the Year)
Socorro Carrillo (Most Engaged Student)
Brian Lauterbach (Outstanding First Year Student)
Brian Lauterbach (Outstanding Veteran Academic/Service Award)

Faculty of the Year
Steve Ornelas

In addition to the individual awards, four students were honored by Who's Who Among American Junior College Students:

Socorro Carrillo
Pamela Gertz
Ashley Greaves
Deborah Long

Central Arizona College - District Office 8470 N. Overfield Road, Coolidge, AZ 85128 Phone: 800-237-9814